Dance Theatre of Harlem

Divine Nine/HBCU Night: 2023 New York Season

Dance Theatre of Harlem (DTH) and the DTH Divine Nine/HBCU Advisory Committee are thrilled to invite you to a special performance of Dance Theatre of Harlem for members of the Divine Nine and HBCU alumni, faculty, and students —Divine Nine/HBCU Night— on Friday, April 21st at 7:30pm at New York City Center (131 West 55th Street). Use CODE HBCUD9 for 20% off individual and group tickets priced at $55 or more.

For individual tickets click here: For groups call 212.690.2800 Ext 404 or email

This special evening includes dynamic performances of the Dance Theatre of Harlem Company and will feature Resident Choreographer Robert Garland’s latest hit, Higher Ground, set to music by Stevie Wonder and named one of the best performances of 2022 by The New York Times.

This historic celebration begins with a pre-performance Stevie Wonder Dance Party with DJ Duggz (Preston Dugger III, former DTH company member). Doors open at 6:30 pm. A post-show conversation with DTH Artistic Director Virginia Johnson, an honorary member of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated and Artistic Director Designate Robert Garland moderated by author, arts advocate, writer and television producer of the hit show, A Different World, Susan Fales-Hill, will immediately follow the performance.

This evening provides a unique opportunity for Dance Theatre of Harlem, members of the Divine Nine, along with HBCU alumni, faculty, and students to celebrate our collective history and culture. Please wear paraphernalia or colors representing your organization/institution.

Click below to watch a special message from DTH alumna and proud member of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Incorporated, Valencia Yearwood.


We look forward to welcoming you to Divine Nine/HBCU Night on April 21st. It will be a night to remember!

Divine Nine/HBCU Dance Theatre of Harlem Advisory Committee:

Virginia Johnson
Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., DTH Artistic Director

Vernon Ross
Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Inc., DTH alumnus

Leslie Wims Morris
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., DTH Board Vice Chair

Erika Munro Kennerly
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., Hampton University alumna, DTH Board member

Valencia Yearwood
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., DTH alumna

Keyana K. Patterson
Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc., DTH Staff member

James Washington
Phi Beta Sigma Fraternity, Inc., DTH alumnus

Sharon Duncan
Howard University alumna, DTH Staff member